Friend collectors

So, the first thing I’ve noticed about antivaxxers is that they are Facebook friend collectors. They add anyone and everyone, regardless of who they are or where they are, just so long as they have expressed an AV sentiment somewhere.

My sock has been seriously active now for less than two weeks. For a while there I was getting about 60 friend requests a day. After a few days I was noticing that many of them had mutual friends with me that numbered 100 or above, so they were adding me because their friends did.

What does it mean? I don’t really know just yet. I suspect they think they are networking or something but I can’t help but wonder if it’s to do with Facebook kudos.

I know two people who claim to be AV and share all the memes and statuses to suit, but who actually vaccinate their children. They like being part of a “gang” so to speak. If this desire to seem super popular on Facebook is about online kudos, is it possible some of them are AV for Facebook kudos? Or perhaps some of them even vaccinate their children?

Who knows?

Leave a comment